Food Knowledge, Well Done

Definitive Answers to Food Questions

  • Categories

  • Archives

NTG’s Eating Habits(for Some Perspective)

Posted by gambit50 on April 22, 2008

I think it is important to give a brief(hopefully) rundown of my eating habits during an average week. This should provide a bit more perspective into the whole operation.

I am a tall, fit guy. I workout 4 or 5 times a week and in the last few years, I have reduced or eliminated most of the exercises that really develop the largest muscles of the body. Why am I wasting your time with this? During this same period, my calorie consumption has been reduced, as well. I adhere to a relatively strict diet, the details of which I will not get into, about 4 or 5 days a week. I allow myself limitless calories on one day per week and will probably have one indulgent meal on another 1 or 2 days. That limitless calorie day used to be around 8k or more, back in my beefier youth and other days were less strict. Currently, the big splurge is probably more like 4k sometimes pushing to 5k. Oh, I eat only 2 meals per day pretty much, lunch and dinner, since I can remember. Yes, when the situation calls for it, I will eat something outside those times.

I eat home cooked food on the strict days, some meat, quite a bit of fruit and some vegetables pretty much. Before the decline in weekly calorie count, a very typical day would probably have a 1.5lb steak and some potatoes, pasta or the like for dinner and and an “average” lunch, which could have been takeout, delivery, fast food or food cooked from home, but never a very large meal. Now, lunch is less and dinner is much less.

From the above it is obvious that I do not eat out that often, maybe one or two days per week, usually. And due to the fact that most new places are not even worth a shot and I really enjoy some basics(bread, cheese, pastries, whatever strikes my fancy) from certain shops I do not even always go to a restaurant when I am eating with no restrictions.

Another important note, I drink very little alcohol. My consumption has been on the decline since my college days and now is near teetotaler status. It could be a few months between drinks though if there is a week with a lot of activity, I could imbibe on multiple days. However, I never drink very much during one day.

Most commonly consumed, by far, is wine. If I have a meal planned somewhere I really want to be I will usually have some. I am no wine expert but I know what I like and am quite adept at choosing bottles that I am not exactly familiar with. That could be merely good fortune which might run out. I do go to the sommelier for advice often as well. Personally, I feel that once you have a certain number of bottles that you enjoy in your mind’s library, you know enough. There are about a zillion wines out there, do you really need to know even half of them? I do not believe so, though I do not have this sufficient knowledge, yet, however.

I do enjoy cognac or similar after dinner but that has occurred about once in the last 2 years or more. The occurrence was much more standard years back.

In summary, a previously huge eater, though not a fatass in any way(I am vain enough to point that out), now an occasional big eater but my stomach has shrunk and/or my metabolism/caloric needs have slowed. No more 12k pigouts(Yes, that happened often enough).

Cheers,

NTG

Leave a Reply

 
